Gill

Joined: June 2019

Based in: Camden, NW1

I currently work part time in interiors, providing management of a high street shop offering bespoke furniture, upholstery, curtains and blinds, fabrics and wallpaper service. It is a job that requires very good communication and organisational skills to run smoothly, using the telephone the computer and face to face. I have worked here for since 2017. Between 2015 – 2017 I worked part time for the NHS on the 111 service providing telephone health care and advice, this required a lot of training, willingness to work weekends and holidays, good communication skills and the ability to stay calm in at times very stressful situations. In 2006 I took time out from full time employment where I had been a Housing manager with young homeless people and a childline telephone counsellor to look after my young daughter. During this time I re trained as an upholsterer and spent a few years looking after elderly in laws in their home. I have some experience of being self employed both as an upholsterer and carer and am happy to continue on that basis. My love of animals I grew up in a home with them and regularly looked after neighbours cats, dogs, rabbits, guinea pigs etc . As soon as I was able I had 2 cats of my own, both lived long healthy lives 21 and 19 years old, only requiring medication in their last few years both developing hyper thyroidism. I have since made do with visits from neighbours cats who seem to love hanging out in the garden and popping in to say hello, have a sleep or a cuddle although i do miss having them around all the time I adore their independent nature and what seems to be intuitive sensitivity. I am so happy to have the chance to meet even more furry friends working with A Furry World.